by

As we discussed in class, you must credit your material. Blogs don’t usually use APA format, but the good ones are very careful to cite others’ work. If they don’t, they will infuriate other bloggers. Those non-citers are also saying, in essence: ” Hey, I don’t cite. So you can take my stuff and don’t worry about ripping me off.” Also, they will lose credibility. In addition, because you are in my class, I can fail you.

Here is a piece of advice from the Write Spot:

If you have a website and are using someone else’s photo without getting their permission first, generally it will not be a problem if you are giving them credit for the photo, and linking to their website. Usually in these circumstances the photo owner will not ask you to take it down. But if they do, then you must comply.

To make the link above, I highlighted the words “Write Spot” and then clicked the link icon on the tool bar. The icon will only appear when you have highlighted at least one word.

Note: I have indicated clearly which text is a direct quote. Above I used italics. Below I use quote marks. Revkin (later in this post) also uses indentation.

What if I am posting material that is not from the web?

Caron Chess wrote in the American Journal of Public Health in 2008: “Improving risk communication about terrorism requires understanding not only responses to messages but also the organizations working to manage the risks.”

The above does not include an APA citation, but I let the reader know the source of the material. I also included a link to the site. I cannot include a link to the article because AJPH does not allow free access.

A professional shows how it is done.

Andrew Revkin of the New York Times is the author of an incisive blog about climate change. His blog is useful because he includes others’ ideas and writing. Here is how he gave credit in his column of October 15. (I have italicized this so you can see it more easily. All the links are from his column.)

Almost 20 years ago, Harold Lewis, a respected physicist who had advised the government and the Pentagon on matters ranging from nuclear winter to missile defense, included his assessment of climate change from the buildup of human-generated greenhouse gases in a book on technological risk:

All models agree that the net effect will be a general and global warming of the earth; they only disagree about how much. None suggest that it will be a minor effect, to be ignored while we go about our business. [ Read more.]

A couple of pages later, he laid out the implications of warming and the need for “global cooperation and sacrifice now, to avert something far in the future.” He noted that this was unlikely, given human nature, but said, “one can only hope.”

Revkin goes on to talk about how this same physicist recently resigned from a professional organization because the organization spent money on global warming.

A few other points…

Notice I included headings so you could read the post more easily. I used relevant links.

I have remembered to use my “real” name.  I cannot give you a grade if you  don’t indicate your real name.

Caron Chess

Leave a Reply

